Who we are

The American Iris Society (AIS) is a nonprofit institution incorporated February 2, 1927, for the sole purpose of promoting the culture and improvement of the Iris.  AIS is divided into geographic Regions.  Region 21 covers Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, NWT, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

Region 21 was formed in 1950 and portions of Canada were added later.  Before becoming Region 21, these States were part of Region 18 and before that, Region 9.

There are currently seven Region 21 affiliate clubs:

All of these Clubs, Regions, and AIS love to share their enthusiasm for irises.  Let us know how we can help you.

If you are interested in forming an Iris Club in your region, please let us know.  We would be glad to assist in any way we can.

Contact information:  The American Iris Society maintains the current contact information for Region 21 and for all its Regions here.  To contact the Region 21 webmaster, email wrmesser@gmail.com .

Officers:  The Region 21 Officers and contact information for them can be found on the Resources page.

Bylaws:  The AIS Region 21 ByLaws revised June 1 2019 are available as a PDF.  Also, the AIS Region 21 STANDING RULES are a separate PDF.

Library:  One of the resources of Region 21 is the Region Library.  More information about it can be found here.

Happy Gardening!


3 thoughts on “Who we are

    • Hello – beautiful iriess – I am using these iriess (Iris ensata – Japanese iris) in many gardens this year in New York. I look forward to more posts from you. Your blog is beautiful.


  1. Pingback: Region 21 Minutes Has Its Own Page | AIS Region 21

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.